What types of scholarships does MSGA provide?

The value of higher education has never been more significant than it is now. Unfortunately, the cost of higher education has continued to increase year over year, making it difficult for families to afford. We understand and we’re here to help. At MSGA, we strive to lessen the financial burden for students and their families by offering educational scholarships via the MSGA Scholarship Program.  

As we continue our commitment to improving member’s lives, we continuously look for opportunities to support educational institutions in health, wellness and nursing. Each year, when given the opportunity to further help the community outside of our scholarship program, we provide financial gifts to select charities and nursing schools.

Below is information on out Nursing School Gift Program and the MSGA Scholarship Program.

The Nursing School Gift Program

As part of our mission in improving our member’s overall health, MSGA is actively seeks to help students studying to become future nurses. Over the past two years, MSGA has donated multiple gifts of $25,000 each to chosen Nursing Schools under our ‘Nursing School Gift Program’. These gifts have enabled the chosen institutions to provide scholarships to a number of their own nursing students who might otherwise not have been able to complete their studies due to financial stress.

In 2016, MSGA provided the St. John’s School of Nursing with a $25,000 gift, and in early 2017, MSGA provided Saint Louis University with a gift of $25,000.  We are pleased to report MSGA’s gift of $25,000 was matched by Go Further, the University’s scholarship matching program.

Click on the links below to see how our donations have impacted students:
SLU Nursing Scholarship
St. John’s School Of Nursing Gift
College of St. Mary Scholarship

If you represent a nursing school and would like to apply for a future gift, please fill out the Nursing Scholarship Program Donation Application.

The MSGA Scholarship Program

MSGA intends to provide up to 20 scholarships in the amount of $2,500 each year to students who meet the eligibility requirements. We look at a number of different aspects when choosing a scholarship recipient, including their community involvement, work history, and their overall GPA.  In addition, applicants must demonstrate how the scholarship funds will be used to help their academic progress and/or enhancement of their skills.

How can I submit a successful scholarship application?

  • You must be an MSGA member to apply or a dependent/relative of a member and must still be a member at the time it’s awarded.
  • Please fill in all information clearly. Email your completed application to scholarships@medsensemembers.com, with signature/s, and a letter of recommendation (from a professor, employer, or character reference), to the address at the bottom of this application.
  • An incomplete application will not be considered.

Who is eligible to apply?

  • Applicants must be high school of senior rank or currently enrolled in a 2 or 4-year college or university.
  • Applicants are only eligible if they are a member of the MSGA and/or legal dependent or household relative of such a member.
  • You must have a minimum 2.0 GPA

When is the deadline?
September 15, 2017 is the deadline for all completed applications to be submitted. MSGA’s Scholarship Committee will review applications after this date. The award(s) will be made in early October for the current school year.

Our Past Recipients

2016 Recipients

Ahofolau UhatafeGalen College of Nursing
Alexandra EmeryIndiana State University
Alyssa GiftStephen F. Austin State University
Anna Elizabeth WehrTruman State University
Anna SullivanHouston Community College
Brandon GeppertCalifornia University of Pennsylvania
Brooke TokesBowling Green State University
Carlos A. LopezArizona Western College
Chase HampsonLindenwood University-Belleville
Chaz DominguezDePaul University
Chelsa PowersSinclair Community College
Chetan DhirUniversity of Texas Austin
Christine L. PerkumasMetropolitan Community College
Daniel LavelleJohns Hopkins University - School of Education
Dustin Chad SampsonEast Central University
Edward J. Williams IIIUniversity of Florida
Emily NasettColumbia College of Nursing
Eric NiyokwizeraRichland College
Feroz Manuela Quirino FernandesDePaul University
Haley A. WollmuthSouth Dakota State University
Hana WeldesenbetUniversity of Maryland, Baltimore
Isaiah LawrenceAiken Technical University
Jamie BallardWestern Governors University
Jazmine NairnConcord University
Jenifer OrndorffBluffton Univversity
Josie MartinezJersey College School of Nursing
Juilanne PersaUniversity of Central Oklahoma
Justin M. TokesKent State University
Kristen GilchrestCape Cod Community College
Lauren SmithTexas A&M University-Commerce
Mark BermanUniversity of Pittsburgh
Melissa LopezArizona Western College
Monicka FosnochtBastyr University California
Noel StrueningMesa Community College
Paris N. HickmanVirginia State University
Paul Murianki RagwaConcordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, Indiana
Qionte JohnsonArizona State University
Rebecca Ann AlbyAshford University
Sharon AlstonWalden University
Suzette RyanCollege of Staten Island
Terri SmithNorth Central University
Torian BurnsUniversity of Central Arkansas
Troy Lawerence TrinidadNavarro College
Uriel Smith-Jackson Coastal Carolina University

2015 Recipients

Brooke TokesBowling Green State University
Chris-Annie JosephBaton Rouge Community College
Devin DeatonArkansas Tech University
Feroz Manuel Quirino FernandesDe Paul University
Jamie BohlenDoane College
Justin TokesKent State University
Maria Theresa RobertsCasper College
Mark LibanIdaho State University
Oluwatomiwa Bami-OgunbiyiUniversity of Texas at Tyler
Ouida CampbellJefferson State Community College
Samuel CooneyKansas State University
William SmithArapahoe Community College